Benedetti plays Simpson

Royal Scottish National Orchestra & Nicola Benedetti
Music Hall

David Afkham: conductor
Nicola Benedetti: violin

Trumpets ring out, crowds cheer and soldiers march. It’s all there in Shostakovich’s electrifying Fifth Symphony – a work on which the composer’s very life depended. A resounding success from its first performance, it continues to thrill audiences today. All this and Nicola Benedetti too. Tonight, the nation’s favourite violinist has something brand new to share: a luscious, flamboyant concerto written specially for her by Liverpudlian composer Mark Simpson.

Sir Alexander & Lady Veronica Gibson Memorial Concert


  • MARK SIMPSON Violin Concerto Scottish Premiere, RSNO Co-commission
  • SHOSTAKOVICH Symphony No5
Royal Scottish National Orchestra -
Nicola Benedetti Violin
Get tickets now
Add to Apple / .ics calendar
Apple / .ics
Add to Google calendar
Add to Office 365 calendar
Office 365
Add to Outlook calendar
Add to Yahoo calendar

You may also be interested in…

Coming up this month - June