Elgar Cello Concerto

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, Dai Miyata & Ryan Wigglesworth
Music Hall

“Free but happy” is the motto that Brahms gave to his Third Symphony, and it opens with all the freshness of a summer storm. What comes next is a musical landscape of rolling clouds, tender lullabies, and radiant sunsets: a haunting finish to a concert that’s all about light, shade, and deep feelings. If you thought Elgar’s popular Cello Concerto was merely the sound of green fields and rolling hills, think again, as cellist Dai Miyata – praised by critics for his “sublime beauty of tone” – joins Ryan Wigglesworth to uncover its troubled soul. And explore a new world of sound from the imagination of Lisa Illean, who creates music (it’s been said) from “exquisitely quiet shadows”


  • LISA ILLEAN New Work (BBC Commission, World Premiere)
  • ELGAR Cello Concerto
  • BRAHMS Symphony No.3
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra -
Dai Miyata Cello
Ryan Wigglesworth Conductor
Get tickets now
Add to Apple / .ics calendar
Apple / .ics
Add to Google calendar
Add to Office 365 calendar
Office 365
Add to Outlook calendar
Add to Yahoo calendar

You may also be interested in…

Coming up this month - June

Concert for Ukraine

Orchestra Nova, Gareth John, Amy Stachan, Iryna Chupryna, Alan Haggart & Fountainhall Chorus
Fountainhall Church at the Stocket